Connect with us
Eugeneson Lyngdoh ,FC Bengaluru,AFC Cup semi-final leg


Eugeneson Lyngdoh cracker earned a point for FC Bengaluru in AFC Cup semi-final leg 1

Eugeneson Lyngdoh cracker earned Bengaluru FC a 1-1 draw and a crucial away goal in their AFC Cup first leg semifinal match against defending champions Johor Darul Ta’zim. It was a stunning goal which we see in European league matches, but for the class of an Indian club it’s huge boost.

Lyngdoh left-footed strike from far outside of the box to the left corner of the Johor goal post in the 57th minute came as a quick reply to defending champions goal, when Jorge Pereyra Diaz put the home side ahead in the 53rd minute at the Tan Sri Dato’ Haji Hassan Yunos Stadium.

Wednesday’s draw gave an advantage to the I-League champions Bengaluru who will play their second leg of the semifinals on October 19 at home at Kanteerava Stadium. It’s a huge boost for the home side knowing they will be playing the 2nd leg at home, in their quest for a historic final appearance in the AFC Cup, continent’s second tier club competition. 

No Indian club had ever made it to the final of the AFC Cup. Bengaluru FC is only the third Indian club to have made it to the semifinals of the AFC Cup, after Dempo (2008) and East Bengal (2013).

On Wednesday two sides met for the third time in this edition of the tournament. Bengaluru and Johor have already matched together in group stage, and the Malaysian giants had won both the home and away fixtures. But when it matters most, Bengaluru have an upper hand with an away goal advantage.

Alberto Roca’s men have enough time to prepare for 19th October 2nd leg of the AFC Cup Semi-final fixture. We can’t see a packed ground for AFC Cup football match in India, especially when ISL will be played in India during those days. But, Lyngdoh cracker goal is good enough to pull the crowd in home game, and Bengaluru fans is surely going to enjoy another cracker from him, if they want their champions to watch lifting Asia’s second tier club competition’s trophy.


More in I-league