Connect with us
Juventus, Serie A, Big Five Associations, Scudetto

Football News

Juventus’ 7th successive Serie A title made them Big Five’s most successful club

Juventus clinched their 7th successive Serie A title-winning 2017/18 season Scudetto. It helped them become the most successful club in Big Five club associations with domestic honours. Bianconeri have now 34 Serie A title to their name escaping past Real Madrid’s 33 La Liga title.

Both La Liga giants Barcelona and Real Madrid bring an insurmountable amount of competition to La Liga. It makes difficult for them to show their supremacy in successive seasons. Barcelona lifted their 25th La Liga title this season, whereas Real Madrid is currently leading the trophies tally with their 33 titles.

Premier League clubs have no match to Juventus because their highest league winner Manchester United can only boast of 20 titles. Their second best Liverpool has only 18 titles to their name which equals Serie A Milan duos title. AC Milan and Inter Milan both have 18 Serie A titles to their name.

Ligue 1 clubs can’t match the feet of Juve, because of their highest league winner Saint-Etienne boast of only 10 titles. Although, Olympique Lyonnais do match them in terms of winning consecutive titles. Lyon have also won 7 consecutive Ligue 1 titles winning their first in 2001/02 to 2007/08.

Bundesliga giant Bayern Munich is chasing them with their consecutive Bundesliga title but they have no match in terms of collective titles. Bayern Munich have 27 Bundesliga titles, but it will take them a decade to match Juve even when Juve doesn’t win any more title in next 10 seasons.

In Big Five associations, Juve has no match in terms of domestic titles. But there are many clubs who are ahead of Juventus in terms of winning domestic titles in other club associations. They are not only ahead in terms of winning consecutive titles, but accumulating overall titles.

Europe’s longest ever winning run belong to Gibraltar club Lincoln Red Imps. Lincoln won the Gibraltarian league 14 times in a row between 2002/03 to 2015/16. The second best belongs to Latvia’s Skonto Riga who won 12 consecutive league titles between 1991 and 2004.

Belarusian club Bate Borisov have won 12 consecutive titles, Swiss side FC Basel have won 8 consecutive titles which was only halted by Young Boys this season. There are many who are tied up with Juventus winning 7 successive league titles. Greek club Olympiakos 7 successive league title was halted by AEK Athens this season. And, now Juventus is tied up with Scottish champion Celtic and Bulgaria’s Ludogorets Razgrad. Welsh club ‘The News Saints’ also have 7 successive titles to their name.

Juventus 34 Serie A titles also fall short of five other clubs who have accumulated more league titles than them. Bianconeri are currently tied up with Belgian side Anderlecht with their 34 titles, whereas Scottish side Rangers with 54 titles, Linfield (52), Celtic (49), Olympiakos (44), and Benfica (36) titles sits ahead of Juventus.

Juventus can say they have 36 titles to their name, but their 2004/05 and 2005/06 Serie A titles were revoked due to fixing scandal. But never mind, Juventus can boast of Big Five club associations most successful club in terms of domestic titles.


More in Football News