UEFA announces Champions League evolution

Uefa Champions League evolution

The top four team direct qualification from top four country 

UEFA announces Champions League evolution today. Now, the four top team from the top four highest-ranked country association can directly qualify for group stage from 2018/19 season. Currently the format allow only three clubs from top three to qualify directly in group stage and fourth placed team play in playoffs to qualify for the group stage. And, fourth placed Italy only have two places as direct qualifier, third placed have to fight for their place with playoffs.

The changes in current format will see four team from the top four highest ranked association qualifying for the group stage directly. Currently Spain, England, and Germany are at top three in association ranked no.1, and Italy as fourth ranked in association no.2. But, as the evolution brought in England, Spain, Germany and Italy came in the same bracket and each will have four teams in group stage, which will make team counts sixteen from the top ranked association. And, changes in rules of Europa League winner direct qualification will add another one in that list if the Europa League winner belongs to these four top ranked country associations.

According to the changes a new system for the club coefficients will take place. Clubs will be judged on their own records (deletion of the country share for individual club coefficient unless that coefficient is lower than 20% of the association’s coefficient).  Historical success in the competition will also be acknowledged in coefficient calculation (points for previous European titles with a weighted system for UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League titles).

Financial distribution to clubs will be increased significantly for both competitions. A new four-pillar financial distribution system (starting fee, performance in the competition, individual club coefficient and market pool) will see sporting performances better rewarded, while market pool share will decrease.

Speaking about the amendments agreed for the new cycle, UEFA General Secretary ad interim Theodore Theodoridis said: “The evolution of UEFA’s club competitions is the result of a wide-ranging consultative process involving all stakeholders and taking into account a wide range of expertise and perspectives.

“The amendments made will continue to ensure qualification based on sporting merit, and the right of all associations and their clubs to compete in Europe’s elite club competitions.

“We are happy that European football remains united behind the concepts of solidarity, fair competition, fair distribution and good governance.”

Source :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *